Runnin’ down a dream

I ran my first 5K of the summer last Saturday.  It was out in Albany, and was a charity event that my brother-in-law put on.  I ran a decent time of 24:00.  I figure that’s not bad considering I hadn’t trained (other than going to Crossfit) and the fact that the temperature at race time was like 88 degrees.

I have never like running on treadmills.  I don’t much like running on roads either.   I like running on grass.  Mostly when chasing a ball that I have the potential to kick.  However, I had a great time at the race.  It was my first chance to try out POSE running.  Crossfit teaches POSE running.  While I haven’t been to a clinic yet, I’ve been looking into it and tried to utilize it during the 5k.

Here’s a really interesting article the paper soon to be known as t”he paper formerly known as the Boston Globe” put out.

It’s about running shoes and how they might be hurting rather than helping our feet.  It’s worth a read.

I ran a 5:00 mile in highschool. Can you believe that?  I don’t think I’m going to be doing any 18 minute 5k’s, but I do enjoy thinking that there is a possibility that I can run in a certain way that won’t kill my knees.  After all, running is the fastest way I know of to get from point A to point B whilst on foot.

Finally, I’m pretty positive I want to try running in these sometime.

Published in: on April 28, 2009 at 8:58 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thelast1augh.wordpress.com/2009/04/28/runnin-down-a-dream/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Way to go buddy! Wicked proud of you… as always!

  2. Where’s the link?

  3. Nevermind. I found it. The color for links is awfully similar to the normal text color. Either that or my eyes suck.

  4. Yeah, the color’s the same. Originally, I didn’t embed the links, but that looked horrible. Maybe I can change the text color of links somehow.

  5. 24 even huh…

    Suspect.

  6. Time me.

  7. OH! I have these! I got them specifically for running. haha…. it’s a total underground movement. I’m surprised you’ve heard of them


Leave a Reply

