Mr. Big Stuff.

Know thyself.  In The Republic, Plato uses the parable of the cave to discuss knowing who oneself is.  Basically, the allegory discusses a bunch of folks who live in a cave.  The only image they have of themselves is that of their shadow on the wall of the cave.  He discusses how the folks in the cave beging to view themselves based on the images of their own shadows.   He then discusses how the philosopher has a view that encompasses reality. Plato thought that the physical did not emcompass reality, but that they were reflections or shadows of the real “Forms”.

I recently read “Victory Over the Darkness” by Neil Anderson.  This book has the worst title ever.  It took me awhile to get past it and actually start reading it.   I’d actually recommend it to any Christian.  The first half of the book lays a doctrinal answer to the question, “Who am I?”  The second half of the book is a practical application and implementation of that knowledge to your life.  In the second chapter, Anderson goes through the New Testament and pulls out a list that “itemizes in first-person language who you really are in Christ.” Below is a sample of that list.  A couple of months ago I started praying through this list.  This was surprisingly hard.  I’ve always had a hard time accepting compliments.  But lately I’ve realized that even worse, I’ve barely been able to acknowledge my own strengths, or even spiritual truths about myself.  Here are some spiritual trusts about what it means to be a Christian.

So, I’ve been trying to get to know myself again. I’ve been drawing a new understanding of who I am in Christ.  It’s like I don’t have to look at the shadows that Satan presents about who we are.  God is like the philosopher who understand the real form of who we are.

Who do you think you are?  In Christ…

I am the salt of the earth (Matt. 5:13)

I am the light of the world (Matt. 5:14)

I am a child of God (John 1:12)

I am part of the true vine, a channel of Christ’s life (John 15:1,5)

I am Christ’s friend (John 15:15)

I am chosen and appointed by Christ to bear His fruit (John 15:16)

I am a slave of righteousness (Romans 6:18)

I am enslaved to God (Romans 6:22)

I am a child of God; God is spiritually my Father (Rom. 8:14; Gal. 3:26)

I am a joint heir with Christ, sharing His inheritance (Rom. 8:17)

I am a temple- a dwelling place- of God (1 Cor. 3:16; 6:19)

I am united to the Lord and am one spirit with Him (1 Cor. 6:17)

I am a new Creation (2 Cor. 5:17)

I am reconciled to God and am a minister of reconciliation (2 Cor. 5: 18, 19)

I am a saint (Eph. 1:1, 1 Cor. 1:2; Phil. 1:1)

I am God’s workmanship- born again to do his work (Eph. 2:10)

I am a fellow citizen with the rest of God’s family (Eph. 2:19)

I am righteous and holy (Eph. 4:24)

I am a citizen of heaven (Phil. 3:20)

I am chosen of God; holy and dearly loved (Col 3:12; 1 Thess. 1:4)

I am a son of light and not of darkness (1 Thess. 5:5)

I am a holy partaker of a heavenly calling (Heb. 3:1)

I am one of God’s living stones, being built up in Christ as a spiritual house (1 Pet. 2:9,10)

I am an enemy of the devil (1 Pet. 5:8)

I am born of God and the devil cannot touch me (1 John 5:18)

Anderson encourages Christians to ignore the shadows of who we are that are presented by Satan.  I would encourage us to also ignore the shadows created by our media, our friends and our society.  Take some time in silence and solitude to think about who you really are.   Acknowledge the above list through prayer every day for two weeks. Try it.  Know Thyself… as God knows you. Come on. Have an answer prepared in case someone wants to know who do you think you are.

Published in: on May 18, 2009 at 1:43 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thelast1augh.wordpress.com/2009/05/18/mr-big-stuff/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

